RhiReading News

Dear readers,

Hi Rhireaders! Check out the latest events in the sidebar! Is there anything better than crisp autumn days curled up with an engrossing read? Be sure and look around if you need recommendations.

Did you drop by to request a review or tour stop? I am currently CLOSED for review requests for ALL review requests due to time contraints. I have promotional openings for November through February open though so please reach out. Just please drop me an email with a polite request and if I'm interested I will reply.

♥ -- Rhi


1.20.2017

Weekend Reading [1/20-1/22] :: My Crazy Magical TBR

Me trying to hold on to my sanity.


Soooo 2017 is already shaping up to be worse than 2016. 


At least for me it is. I am so sick of negative things happening in my life. If it weren't for books I think I'd snap.

This week I'm working my way through Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. There's something about fiction featuring characters struggling with mental illness that makes me feel just a little more capable. Like if these fictional people can make it through maybe I can too. If you have a favorite do let me know, I'm always looking for more to add to my wishlist.

Last weekend I decided to finally give The Magicians a try. I'd been really wanting to watch it but with no cable I was kinda SOL until it hit Netflix then everything else was a priority. Now I can't believe no one is talking about it! That show is fantastic. I finished the first season last night, forgetting that the second isn't out yet. Oops. So I finally started The Magicians on audio. It'll probably be a big part of my reading this weekend.

What read are you escaping into this weekend? 

Leave a comment and tell me! -- Rhi

1.17.2017

Get this WICKED preorder now!


We are excited to announce that the WICKED EVER AFTER series by Nazarea Andrews is up for pre-order! This is an erotic, fairy-tale series that will each be releasing in February. You can sign up for Nazarea's newsletter for exclusive materials and information on the series.

Review: The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

Notes: ARC received via Amazon Vine.
Young Adult, Historical, Ancient Civ, Romance
Digital/Print/Audio (384 pages, RAZORBILL)
Princess. Captive. Gladiator. Always a Warrior.
Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king and the younger sister of the legendary fighter Sorcha. When Fallon was just a child, Sorcha was killed by the armies of Julius Caesar.
On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister's footsteps and earn her place in her father's war band. She never gets the chance.
Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators—owned by none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival.
Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, deadly fights in and out of the arena, and perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier and her sworn enemy.
A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.
Author Site: website

An ancient civ YA worth reading! (4 stars)


I don't often reach for historical YA but when I do it's usually something in the ancient civ. There's just something interesting about times when people believed in large pantheons and so much of the world was still undiscovered. Back when wars were fought hand to hand and there were interesting codes of honor. THE VALIANT delivers very well on these aspects so buckle up!

While I never quite stopped thinking of Fallon as a bit of a fool who thought way too highly of herself and her own skills, the overall story was very good. With interesting twists and turns, nary a slow spot, fights galore, and lots of romantic tension I had a difficult time putting this one down. Aside from not tolerating Fallon's personality well the only complaint I really have is that the story felt unfinished, as if it were written with loose threads in hopes of a sequel but a little too wrapped up to feel quite like one was needed.

1.15.2017

Review: Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff

Maresi (The Red Abbey Chronicles) by Maria Turtschaninoff

Notes: ARC received via NetGalley.
Young Adult, Fantasy, Feminism
Digital/Print/Audio (256 pages, ABRAMS)
Only women and girls are allowed in the Red Abbey, a haven from abuse and oppression. Maresi, a thirteen-year-old novice there, arrived in the hunger winter and now lives a happy life in the Abbey, protected by the Mother and reveling in the vast library in the House of Knowledge, her favorite place. Into this idyllic existence comes Jai, a girl with a dark past. She has escaped her home after witnessing the killing of her beloved sister. Soon the dangers of the outside world follow Jai into the sacred space of the Abbey, and Maresi can no longer hide in books and words but must become one who acts. Author Site: website

READ this book! (5 stars)

I read an excerpt from MARESI many months before it came out and from that tiny taste alone if became one of my most coveted 2017 releases. Sometimes I shoot myself in the foot that way and wind up being disappointed when a book doesn't live up to my expectations. MARESI went well beyond my expectations!

While Turtschaninoff can get a bit Tolkien-ish in providing more detailed descriptions than one needs I didn't feel like it bogged the story down. The world building is subtle and tense, presenting just enough information of the world beyond the Red Abbey to frighten. As a woman, as a mother, as a feminist, I found myself terrified and angry only to realize just how unfictional many of the elements of the story were.

This book is absolutely everything. I can't even express how phenomenal it is. I wish I could send a copy back in time to my teen self so that I can have read this when I needed it most. Calling this a must-read feels like an understatement and I desperately await the next two translations of the Red Abbey Chronicles.

Review: Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano

Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano

Notes: ARC received via NetGalley.
Young Adult, Thriller, Romance
Digital/Print (360 pages, ENTANGLED TEEN)
Yesterday, Rachel went to sleep listening to Taylor Swift, curled up in her grammy’s quilt, worrying about geometry. Today, she woke up in a ditch, bloodied, bruised, and missing a year of her life.
She doesn’t recognize the person she’s become: She’s popular. She wears nothing but black.
Black to cover the blood.
And she can fight.
Tell no one.
She’s not the only girl to go missing within the last year…but she’s the only girl to come back. She desperately wants to unravel what happened to her, to try and recover the rest of the Lost Girls.
But the more she discovers, the more her memories return. And as much as her new life scares her, it calls to her. Seductively. The good girl gone bad: sex, drugs, and raves, and something darker…something she still craves. The rush of the fight, the thrill of the win―something she can’t resist, that might still get her killed…
Author Site: website

Get ready for an all-nighter! (4 stars)


I don't read a lot of YA thrillers but there was something really compelling about LOST GIRLS. While it wound up going in a different direction than I thought it would—which is why I couldn't rate it an "I loved it"—it was very much a can't-put-down book. 

One of my biggest frustrations as a reader is that I very rarely get tricked or surprised by an author. Sure, I take a little pride in being great at figuring the twists out beforehand, but I really love it when an author can stump me. Destefano managed to do so so masterfully I had to put the book down and give an exasperated groan. 

Without giving too much away, I feel like this book blended marvelous elements of Fight Club, Taken, Black Swan, and Pretty Little Liars into a cryptic and violent page turner. If you need an engrossing, mature YA read that will pull no punches and leave you thinking long after it's over I very much recommend LOST GIRLS.

Review: Wrapped Together by Annabeth Albert

Wrapped Together by Annabeth Albert

Notes: ARC received via NetGalley.
LGBTQIA, Romance, Holiday
Digital (127 pages, LYRICAL SHINE)
In the bustling restaurants, shops, and caf├ęs of Portland, Oregon, things really heat up for the hard-working men behind the scenes when the holidays come into town . . .
For a stationery store owner, the holidays are great for business. But for Hollis Alcott, Christmas reminds him of the tragic events of three years past, and the last thing he wants to do is take part in Portland’s over-abundance of festive cheer. But Sawyer Murphy, a hunky gift shop owner whose brother is married to Hollis’s sister, has made it his mission to pluck Hollis out of his holiday blues. And his plan is beginning to work. Wrapped in the warm glow of newfound passion, the former business rivals hit up Portland’s finest holiday traditions—and Hollis’s icy attitude begins to melt like snowflakes on his tongue. But he isn’t sure he can trust anyone with the only gift he has—his heart—without breaking it like an antique ornament. Unless he can find the courage to take a leap with the one lover he never expected . . .
Author Site: website

A new favorite book and author! (5 stars)


As a reader who is still trying to find what she enjoys in the LGBTQIA+ romance offerings I've been managing to find some fantastic reads by following my gut instincts. After the exhaustion that was 2016 I found myself sitting down at the end of Christmas day with one of the holiday themed romances I hadn't managed to fit in reading before the holiday, WRAPPED TOGETHER. And I devoured it in one sitting!

Hollis and Sawyer could not be much more different which makes for a delicious rivalry that isn't quite enemies-to-lovers. They have an interesting history and with their siblings married it makes for a complicated attraction. I absolutely adored them both as individuals, fangirling away at their sexy, sweet journey to true love.

WRAPPED TOGETHER not only ranks up there as one of the best holiday season romances I've read but also as one of my romance favorites too. If you read romances of all flavors because you simply love love I think you will adore this one too. I literally finished this book and came straight to Amazon to start adding the rest of the series to my wishlist. I'm adding Albert to my authors to watch list and I can't wait to catch up on all of the Portland Heat novels.


LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails