RhiReading News

Dear readers,

Hi Rhireaders! Check out the latest events in the sidebar! Thanks for visiting, be sure and follow me on social media for MORE awesome content.

Did you drop by to request a review or tour stop? I am currently CLOSED for review requests for ALL review requests due to time contraints. I have promotional openings for February through July open though so please reach out. Just please drop me an email with a polite request and if I'm interested I will reply.

♥ -- Rhi


2.13.2016

Review: Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace
Notes: ARC received via Amazon Vine.
Young Adult, Horror, Paranormal
Ebook/Print/Audio (368 pages, KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS)
For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.
When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.
Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.
Author Site: website

Supernaturally weird and wonderous... (4 stars)

It's been a while since I read something as odd and engaging as Shallow Graves. But it's also the kind of book I find very hard to review because anything I comment on feels like a spoiler. Suffice it to say that if you've enjoyed chilling young adult reads like The Foxglove Killings, Daughter Unto Devils, or Servant of the Storm, you're going to be swept away in a similar hard-to-put-down story.

I wouldn't call it scary or even true blue horror if you're an adult reader but I'm quite certain if I had read this as a teen I would have slept with the lights on for a night or two after finishing it. If you enjoy being freaked out by a twisted read with unusual supernatural elements I recommend giving it a read.

No comments:

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails