RhiReading News

Dear readers,

Hi Rhireaders! Check out the latest events in the sidebar! Thanks for visiting, be sure and follow me on social media for MORE awesome content.

Did you drop by to request a review or tour stop? Due to high demand and a very busy schedule, I am currently CLOSED for unsolicited review requests. Thank you for thinking of me though!

I do have promotional openings for October 2017 through February 2018 open so please reach out. Just please drop me an email with a polite request and if I'm interested I will reply.

-- Rhi


4.30.2015

Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest, illustrated by Kali Ciesemier
Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery
Ebook, Print (240 pages, SCHOLASTIC)
Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen, & illustrated throughout with comics.
Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.
Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.
Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.
Princess X?
When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There's an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby's story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon---her best friend, Libby, who lives.

Author Site: website

I loved it for three big reasons... (5 stars)

If you love Seattle. If you've loved previous Cherie Priest books. If you enjoy a dark mystery where friendship is important. Buy. This. Book. In spite of the lukewarm reviews I had read before grabbing a copy, these three factors convinced me to read it anyway and I AM PRINCESS X does not disappoint.

Like Becca Fitzpatrick's Black Ice this is a dark mystery with a really terrifying, looming baddie feel. I loved that May didn't give up on finding out the truth about the web comic even when it became ridiculously dangerous for her. I really want to tell more about the plot but I hate spoilers so just trust me when I say it's full of techie stuff and a really frightening bad guys makes it a cat-and-mouse game that's sure to keep you on pins and needles.

While I AM PRINCESS X would be great for the younger YA reader I think it'll be an enjoyable read to any YA fan.



If you found this review helpful would you please rate it on Amazon?

Notes: ARC received via Amazon Vine.

No comments:

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails