RhiReading News

Dear readers,

Hi Rhireaders! Check out the latest events in the sidebar! Thanks for visiting, be sure and follow me on social media for MORE awesome content.

Did you drop by to request a review or tour stop? I am currently OPEN for review requests for review requests. I have promotional openings for August through November open so please reach out. Just please drop me an email with a polite request and if I'm interested I will reply.

-- Rhi


7.29.2013

Review: One Hot Knight by Christy Gissendaner

One Hot Knight by Christy Gissendaner
Paranormal Romance, Category Romance, Magic
Ebook $2.99 (149 pages, COVET)
Stupid curse!
Yves Sucat was a Crusader trapped in a canine body…until a beautiful twenty-first century dog groomer offered the missing link to break his spell. But Regina Patterson was no fluffy-headed female who would instantly melt at Yves' silvery seduction. The more time he spent with the tender-hearted blonde, the less he was able to keep his paws—hands!—off of her.
Regina was much more comfortable with dogs than men, and the stunningly handsome – stunningly male – knight who now shared her apartment was no exception. She’d hoped to find a man as loyal as the pooches she pampered day after day, but would Yves’s broken curse end with her own broken heart?

Author Site: christygissendaner.webs.com

She's got a curse of puppy love... (3 stars)

When Regina Patterson found a big St. Bernard in the park and brought him to her grooming shop in hopes of finding his owner she had no idea what she was getting herself into. When her new doggy friend digs up a bejeweled collar that transforms him into a man she finds out that he was, Yves Sucat, a Crusader who has spent the past 900 years cursed to live as a dog. But the collar's power is only temporary and Yves needs her help to break his curse.

Readers who are dog lovers are sure to enjoy ONE HOT KNIGHT. Especially those who love a goofy, humorous paranormal romance in the vein of Molly Harper or Michele Bardsley. While I often enjoy a funny PNR there was just something about this one that went past funny and into cheesy territory for me, not unenjoyable as a whole, just a little cringe-inducing at times. If you're great at suspending disbelief and don't have a habit of poking holes in a plot you're sure to love ONE HOT KNIGHT. That said, the opening scene really had me head-scratching with its abruptness. There's never an explanation of why Regina was in the park and decided to take a strange dog to her grooming shop (as a dog owner I'd have been worried the dog would possibly attack my paying clients' pets so the logic of it all—or the lack thereof—bugged me).

My issues with those factors aside, ONE HOT KNIGHT, manages to be sweet and sexy. Yves' personality is amusing as he adjusts to modern life and social differences that he's observed but not experienced as a man. Regina is a solid heroine with a good heart and a likable determination that keeps Yves from walking all over her. They made a good match and though there wasn't much conflict to keep them from a HEA aside from the curse the resolution was still quite satisfying.

A fun, quick read when you need a humorous pick-me-up after a long day or a dark read.



Notes: ARC received via publisher.

Check this book out if you liked:

No comments:

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails